Certified Accounting Technician (CAT)

ACCA has retained the Certified Accounting Technician (CAT) Qualification as part of the foundation level qualifications. In order to obtain the CAT Qualification, students will need to complete the following:

  • FA1, MA1, FA2, MA2, FAB, FFA and FMA exams
  • two of the three specialist exams; FAU, FFM and FTX
  • a practical experience requirement
  • Foundations in Professionalism.

Students completing the CAT Qualification can claim exemption from exams FA1, MA1, FA2 and MA2 based on practical experience.

On completion of the CAT Qualification, students may then progress onto the ACCA Qualification if they wish to do so, from F4 onwards. They can also count the four essentials competences and one year’s work experience gained to achieve the CAT Qualification towards the three years’ work experience and 13 performance objectives required for the ACCA Qualification.


  • FAU Foundations in Audit
  • FFM Foundations in Financial Management
  • FTX Foundations in Taxation

In addition to completing the foundation level awards you can also qualify at technician level. You’ll need to complete two additional specialist exams, the Foundations in Professionalism module and one year’s relevant practical experience.